Skip to Main Content

Faculty/Staff

The Ancient Studies Department faculty represents a wide range of interests and specialties in the study of the past. By working with our instructors, students will learn many different aspects of history and culture, and be encouraged to explore them all. All professors have office hours listed, but are also available by appointment. Contact them to set up a meeting.

 

 Active Faculty  Contact Info  Areas of Study
Marilyn Goldberg
Associate Professor &
Department Chair
Office:
Fine Arts 437, ext. 5-2970
goldberg@umbc.edu
Classical and Near-Eastern
archaeology; gender studies
Richard Mason
Lecturer
Office:
Fine Arts 434, ext. 5-8671
masonrs@umbc.edu
Mediterranean cultures
Esther Doyle Read
Lecturer
Office:
Fine Arts 438, ext. 5-1662
eread@umbc.edu
New World and field
archaeology
Robert Rivkin
Lecturer
Office:
Fine Arts 439B, ext. 5-1662
rrivkin@umbc.edu
Latin
David Rosenbloom
Associate Professor
Office:
Fine Arts 436, ext. 5-2723
dsrose@umbc.edu
Greek drama, Classical
Greek history, Greek epic & lyric
Timothy Phin
Lecturer
Office:
Fine Arts 435, ext. 5-2326
tphin@umbc.edu
Roman history, Latin
literature, children and childhood in antiquity; sexuality and gender
Michael Lane
Assistant Professor
Office:
Fine Arts 433, ext 5-2979
mflane@umbc.edu
Greek Bronze Age
archaeology, Linear B
 Professors Emeriti  Contact Info  Areas of Study
Jay Freyman
Associate Professor
freyman@umbc.edu  Greek drama; Greek and Latin lyric
Carolyn Koehler
Associate Professor
koehler@umbc.edu Classical archaeology; ancient trade
Rudolf Storch
Associate Professor
storch@umbc.edu Greek warfare
Walter Sherwin
Associate Professor
sherwin@umbc.edu  Greek and Roman literature