Skip to Main Content

Faculty/Staff

Ancient Studies professors are passionate about their subjects and love teaching them. Their professional expertise ranges from the Bronze Age to the transition to Islam and all points in between. Members of the Ancient Studies faculty are easy to engage in conversation and make time for their students; their doors are always open. Make a point of getting to know them during your time at UMBC.

Faculty Member Office, Phone, Email  Areas of Specialization
David Rosenbloom
Professor & Chair
PAHB 450;
410-455-2723;
dsrose@umbc.edu
Office Hours: MW 10-11am and by appt.
Greek tragedy and comedy; Classical Athenian political, social, and cultural history; oratory
Michael F. Lane
Associate Professor
PAHB 449;
410-455-2979;
mflane@umbc.edu
Greek Bronze-Age Archaeology; Linear B
Melissa Kutner
Assistant Professor
PAHB 446;
410-455-8671;
mabailey@umbc.edu
Office Hours: By appt. MW
Roman Archaeology, Roman Economy; Late Eastern Roman Empire; Transition to Islam
Timothy Phin
Senior Lecturer & Director of the Humanities Scholars Program
PAHB 442;
410-455-2623;
tphin@umbc.edu
Office Hours: M 12-2pm and by appt.
Roman History; Latin Literature; Children and Childhood in Antiquity; Sexuality and Gender in Antiquity
Molly Ayn Jones-Lewis
Senior Lecturer
PAHB 445;
410-455-2970;
mjl@umbc.edu
Office Hours: MTWTh 12pm and by appt.
Greek and Roman Medicine; Interculturality in Antiquity; Roman Law; Roman History (1-2 Centuries CE)
Edward Nolan
Visiting Lecturer
PAHB 448;
410-455-2115; edwardno@umbc.edu
Office Hours: W 1-2 PM and Th 1-5 PM
Language and identity; Sociolinguistics; Greek and Roman History and Historiography; Greek and Latin Prose
Esther Doyle Read
Adjunct Lecturer II
PAHB 444;
410-455-1662;
eread@umbc.edu
Office Hours: TTh 4-5pm and by appt.
New World Archaeology; Field Archaeology
Michele Asuni
Adjunct Lecturer
michele.asuni@umbc.edu
Office Hours: F 12-1pm and by appt.
Greek Literature; the senses in Antiquity; Ancient Emotion Studies; Cultural History
Adam Fracchia      Adjunct Lecturer PAHB 444;                        410-455-1662 fracchia@umbc.edu              Office Hours: TTh 1:30-2:20pm Historical Archaeology, Archaeology of Baltimore, Labor, and Urbanization, and Forensic Archaeology
Amanda Reiterman      Adjunct Lecturer areiterm@umbc.edu              Office Hours: By appt. Greek and Roman Archaeology; Greek painted pottery; Attitudes toward the past in antiquity
Meg Swaney          Adjunct Lecturer PAHB 444;                        410-455-1662; mswaney2@umbc.edu;  Office Hours: W 2-3pm and by appt. Ancient Egyptian Art and Archaeology, Ptolemaic Temples, Egyptomania, Museum Studies
Staff
Emily Hubbard
Administrative Assistant
PAHB 451;
410-455-6265;
ehubbard@umbc.edu
Professors Emeriti
Jay Freyman
Associate Professor Emeritus
freyman@umbc.edu Greek drama; Greek and Latin lyric
Marilyn Goldberg
Associate Professor Emerita
goldberg@umbc.edu Classical and Near-eastern Archaeology; Gender Studies
Carolyn Koehler
Associate Professor Emerita
koehler@umbc.edu Classical archaeology; ancient trade
Rudolf Storch
Associate Professor Emeritus
storch@umbc.edu Greek warfare
Walter Sherwin†
Associate Professor Emeritus
sherwin@umbc.edu Greek and Roman literature