Faculty/Staff

Ancient Studies professors are passionate about their subjects and love teaching them. Their professional expertise ranges from the Bronze Age to the transition to Islam and all points in between. Members of the Ancient Studies faculty are easy to engage in conversation and make time for their students; their doors are always open. Make a point of getting to know them during your time at UMBC.

 

 

Faculty Member Office, Phone, Email  Areas of Specialization
David Rosenbloom
Professor & Chair
PAHB 450;
410-455-2723;
dsrose@umbc.edu
Office Hours: By appt.
Greek tragedy and comedy; Classical Athenian political, social, and cultural history; oratory
Michael F. Lane
Associate Professor
PAHB 449;
410-455-2979;
mflane@umbc.edu   Office Hours: M 10–11 pm, Th 2:30–3:30 pm, or by appt. in person or on WebEx
Greek Bronze-Age Archaeology; Linear B
Melissa Kutner
Assistant Professor
PAHB 446;
410-455-8671; mabailey@umbc.edu
Office Hours: Wednesdays
1-2 pm and by appt.
Roman Archaeology, Roman Economy; Late Eastern Roman Empire; Transition to Islam
Timothy Phin
Senior Lecturer & Director of the Humanities Scholars Program
PAHB 442;
410-455-2623;
tphin@umbc.edu
Office Hours: M 12-2pm and by appt.
Roman History; Latin Literature; Children and Childhood in Antiquity; Sexuality and Gender in Antiquity
Molly Ayn Jones-Lewis
Senior Lecturer
PAHB 445;
410-455-2970;
mjl@umbc.edu
Office Hours: TTh 12-12:45pm, W 1-3:45pm and by appt. (remote)
Greek and Roman Medicine; Interculturality in Antiquity; Roman Law; Roman History (1-2 Centuries CE)
Esther Doyle Read
Adjunct Lecturer II
PAHB 233 and 448;
410-455-2115; eread@umbc.edu     Office Hours: Tues. and Thurs. 4-5 PM and by appointment
New World Archaeology; Field Archaeology
Michele Asuni      Adjunct Lecturer Online and PAHB 444; michele.asuni@umbc.edu
Erika Bucciantini    Adjunct Lecturer Online; ebucchia1@umbc.edu; Office Hours: After class on Tuesdays or scheduled via email
Adam Fracchia      Adjunct Lecturer Online fracchia@umbc.edu    Office Hours: By appt. Historical Archaeology, Archaeology of Baltimore, Labor, and Urbanization, and Forensic Archaeology
Staff
Emily Hubbard
Administrative Assistant
PAHB 451;
410-455-6265;
ehubbard@umbc.edu
Professors Emeriti
Jay Freyman
Associate Professor Emeritus
freyman@umbc.edu Greek drama; Greek and Latin lyric
Marilyn Goldberg
Associate Professor Emerita
goldberg@umbc.edu Classical and Near-eastern Archaeology; Gender Studies
Carolyn Koehler
Associate Professor Emerita
koehler@umbc.edu Classical archaeology; ancient trade
Rudolf Storch
Associate Professor Emeritus
storch@umbc.edu Greek warfare
Walter Sherwin†
Associate Professor Emeritus
sherwin@umbc.edu Greek and Roman literature