Skip to Main Content
COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC campuses are closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.

Faculty/Staff

Ancient Studies professors are passionate about their subjects and love teaching them. Their professional expertise ranges from the Bronze Age to the transition to Islam and all points in between. Members of the Ancient Studies faculty are easy to engage in conversation and make time for their students; their doors are always open. Make a point of getting to know them during your time at UMBC.

 

 

Faculty Member Office, Phone, Email  Areas of Specialization
David Rosenbloom
Professor & Chair
PAHB 450;
410-455-2723;
dsrose@umbc.edu
Office Hours: MW 1-2 or by appt.
Greek tragedy and comedy; Classical Athenian political, social, and cultural history; oratory
Michael F. Lane
Associate Professor
PAHB 449;
410-455-2979;
mflane@umbc.edu
Office Hours: M 2:30-4:30 or by appt.
Greek Bronze-Age Archaeology; Linear B
Melissa Kutner
Assistant Professor
PAHB 446;
410-455-8671;
mabailey@umbc.edu
Office Hours: W 10-12 or by appt.
Roman Archaeology, Roman Economy; Late Eastern Roman Empire; Transition to Islam
Timothy Phin
Senior Lecturer & Director of the Humanities Scholars Program
PAHB 442;
410-455-2623;
tphin@umbc.edu
Office Hours: MW 1-2
Roman History; Latin Literature; Children and Childhood in Antiquity; Sexuality and Gender in Antiquity
Molly Ayn Jones-Lewis
Lecturer
PAHB 445;
410-455-2970;
mjl@umbc.edu
Office Hours: MW 12-2 or by appt.
Greek and Roman Medicine; Interculturality in Antiquity; Roman Law; Roman History (1-2 Centuries CE)
Esther Doyle Read
Adjunct Lecturer II
PAHB 448;
410-455-2115;
eread@umbc.edu
Office Hours: Th 5-6 or by appt.
New World Archaeology; Field Archaeology
Emily Erickson
Adjunct Lecturer
PAHB 444;
410-455-1662
emilyaer@umbc.edu
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:30 or by appt.
Roman Archaeology; Roman Art; Roman Near East; Latin History
Staff
Emily Hubbard
Administrative Assistant
PAHB 451;
410-455-6265;
ehubbard@umbc.edu
Professors Emeriti
Jay Freyman
Associate Professor Emeritus
freyman@umbc.edu Greek drama; Greek and Latin lyric
Marilyn Goldberg
Associate Professor Emerita
goldberg@umbc.edu Classical and Near-eastern Archaeology; Gender Studies
Carolyn Koehler
Associate Professor Emerita
koehler@umbc.edu Classical archaeology; ancient trade
Rudolf Storch
Associate Professor Emeritus
storch@umbc.edu Greek warfare
Walter Sherwin†
Associate Professor Emeritus
sherwin@umbc.edu Greek and Roman literature